Welcome all!

Hello all, my name is Jack Ryan Tuthill. I am a Junior at Bemidji State University in Bemidji, Minnesota. I am a Mass Communications major, with a minor in English. This blog is intended to inform, entertain and possibly educate.

This post is pretty much the same as my “about” page, but I will post something in the near future when I have more time. Feel free to comment or take stabs at me, I can take it.

My major hobbies and interests are as follows: film, music, literature, photography, sports and nature. I have in the past run my own film review blog: http://jackonmovies.blogspot.com/. I began to have a hard time keeping up with it in 2012, but I put a lot of time and effort into it and it helped shape my writing skills.

I earned my first 4.0 at Bemidji State last semester, which was a long time coming. After my college career is finished my dream job would be to contribute to a newspaper. I enjoy writing; especially about things I know well (my interests).

I currently reside in Bemidji, but spent the majority of my adolescence in Thief River Falls, MN (home of the Prowlers). I was quite good at ice hockey, and I had the privilege to play in the 2006 boys high school state hockey tournament. I was born in Sidney, New York, and have also lived in Elk River, MN and Fargo, ND (where I attended North Dakota State University for one year).

The majority of my life here in Bemidji revolves around my beautiful, intelligent and hilarious girlfriend who just graduated with a Bachelors Degree in Psychology, with a minor in Sociology. She intends on attending graduate school next fall in Wisconsin or North Carolina (time will tell). We enjoy spending time in nature, watching good movies and listening to amazing music.

My girlfriend and I at our friend's wedding in Duluth, MN. (2012)

My girlfriend and I at our friend’s wedding in Duluth, MN. (2012)

My taste in music has changed over the years, but I have settled on Indie/Alternative rock. My favorite band is Arcade Fire, who won a Grammy for Best Album in 2010 for “The Suburbs.” They’re amazing, check them out! A few other favorites are Mumford & Sons, Bon Iver, Silversun Pickups, Grizzly Bear, The xx, Blind Pilot, Local Natives, The Head and the Heart, The National, Of Monsters and Men, Sea Wolf and Two Door Cinema Club. If you have heard of some of these bands we can probably be good friends.

Seeing new films is one of my favorite things to do, as is the case for a lot of people. It is hard to list my favorite films, but here are a few: The Dark Knight, Donnie Darko, No Country for Old Men, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, 28 Days Later, Michael Clayton, Inception, A Clockwork Orange, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and Memento. Here are a few of my favorite films of 2012: The Dark Knight Rises, Zero Dark Thirty, The Avengers, Argo, Lincoln, Looper, The Hunger Games, Moonrise Kingdom and Skyfall.

The best film of 2012

The best film of 2012

My parents currently reside in New York state, so I make regular visits. I have hundreds of wonderful photos of the New York landscape that I will likely share at some point as photography is a hobby of mine, but I am no professional (lets make that clear). I have pictures of Washington D.C., New York City, Niagara Falls and dozens of waterfalls. Waterfalls are probably my favorite thing to photograph, especially up close and personal.

The Lincoln Memorial in Washington D.C. (2012)

The Lincoln Memorial in Washington D.C. (2012)

Reading was an acquired taste as I did not enjoy it in my teens, but now I read every day. I especially like reading books that have been adapted into film, because I like comparing and contrasting the two. A few of my favorite authors are Cormac McCarthy (No Country for Old Men, The Road), Dennis Lehane (Mystic River, Shutter Island), Stieg Larsson (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo trilogy), Suzanne Collins (The Hunger Games trilogy) and Richard Matheson (I Am Legend).

I enjoy learning and have nearly a perfect attendance record here at B.S.U. I enjoy classes that challenge me and focus on the small things I need in my profession once I leave this frigid state. I have no doubt Weblogs and Wikis will be a class I learn many worthwhile, much needed skills for the future.

Thank you for taking the time to read a little background information on myself.

4 responses to “Welcome all!

  1. Pingback: Bootcamp2013: An unforgettable, thought-provoking, exhausting, educational trip worth taking | Jack in the Box·

Leave a Reply

