Week 4: Comments, Use of Blogs Extended, and Manifestos

Week four, much like week three, focused on our text. This time around it was chapters nine and ten that we submerged into. We polished the week off with another digital artifact (project), as well. Early in the week we were given the task to comment on 3-4 fellow classmates digital artifacts from the previous week. The purpose of this was to give encouragement, stir conversation, and bring some attention to your own work.

Chapters nine and ten took us into the world of blogging in relation to learning and teaching. Chapter ten calls it “blogging to learn, learning to blog.” We were asked to post twice on the two chapters. How we went about this was up to us. I thought I would give my thoughts on each individual chapter, because while they are interconnected they do stand alone. I thought it best to cover the chapters separately, because that’s how my brain works I suppose. Not all the time, but when given two separate articles to discuss I prefer to take them on one at a time instead of simultaneously. Easier that way.

Before reading those chapters and revealing my thoughts I commented on three students’ posts. I started with Jordon’s post on Journalism and Blogging. It is a thoughtful, educational, and well-written post that is spot-on. Next up was Eric’s artifact, which was also a short story like mine. “Flame Wars” is an interesting take indeed. Lastly, I commented on Devan’s fantastic artifact. The post showcases the ability to integrate video and images into one’s post.

I followed this activity with, as I stated earlier, my posts on chapters nine and ten. Chapter nine dealt with blogging basics, discussion boards, and the struggling social media educational dynamic. That post can be found here.

I then ventured into chapter ten, one of my favorites thus far. Someone’s first-hand experience, like Burgess’, can be fascinating. It correlates with what we are attempting to accomplish in this class. The article is a gripping read, one that works well with this class. My post touches on the relationship between the chapter, her experience, and our ongoing struggles and triumphs in Weblogs and Wikis (en3177).

Following our in-class discussion you asked us to Tweet about one of our favorite posts of the week, which I did here:

You also asked us to write-up ten reasons blogging to learn can be worthwhile and ten reasons it can become difficult. That post lies here. I took this idea and morphed it into my digital artifact for the week, my manifesto.

The manifesto idea stood out when suggestions were made on The Daybook. Here is the original idea:

• Draft a manifesto for students in the face of education by social media.

I named the manifesto, “A Manifesto for Students Learning by Social Media.” Hopefully that is a title everyone can understand. I made it simple to read and relatable to our class and classes to come in near future. I incorporated our text, our authors thoughts, and my personal feelings into the manifesto. It may come across as a “list,” but it is anything but. It is a guide. They are motives, intentions, and views. I tried to throw out many different types of “motives,” “intentions,” and “views.” It is my stance that I have taken after what I have read, learned, and heard over the past four weeks.

This was another fun week which allowed me to be creative and learn in a matter that is not offered in your standard classroom. I attempt to treat each post with a different mindset, rather than finding a set manner of which I post. I find a focus for each post and carry the momentum to the finish line, and the final result is not just a post, it’s a part of me. Something that will stand the test of time.

The reward for reading my material for week = Me dressed up as Two-Face for Halloween

The reward for reading my material for week = Me dressed up as Two-Face for Halloween

One response to “Week 4: Comments, Use of Blogs Extended, and Manifestos

  1. Pingback: notes on reading posts for week 4 in #en3177 | Morgan's Log·

Leave a Reply

