Week 5: More Uses of Blogs and Priests Who Blog?

Week five was yet another blogtastic adventure. This week mimicked last week in more ways than one. We started on Monday with comments on each others artifacts from the previous week, then hit the books with our Uses of Blogs text, then finished with another project. Similar, but different as well. Last week we focused on educational blogging and the like. This week we focused on political, scholarly, gender politics blogging.

We were asked to comment on three projects once again this week. I carefully choose Devan, Sarah, and Joe’s projects. A job well done to the three of them. Devan put together an insightful, creative Prezi. While Sarah formulated a thoughtful, descriptive piece on Dewey and Friere. Joe’s work was more personal; the end result was a masterpiece that dove into the realm of blogging and education.

From there, the class was asked to read chapters 11-14 and post twice on the material. It was again up to us to find a way to go about it. I choose chapters 11 and 14 to discuss. They were the best most interesting articles, and I decided to split them into two posts instead of mashing the two different topics into two posts.

I started with chapter 11. This post is one of the best I have put together this term I think. A lot of work was put into it. A lot of good quotes and links in there. It is an interesting article by Halavais. He sure knows what he is talking about. I love the idea that blogging has taken form of a notebook or journal, coffee house, and the editorial page. It is true, yet those things still have their place in this world.

Chapter 14 took things in a different direction. There are gender issues with practically every profession as well as everywhere in our daily lives. It happens way too often. Chapter 14 proves that the blogosphere is just another one of those places for women to get discriminated against. While I do not agree with everything see states, she does make valid points throughout. It was a tough subject to tackle because of the subject matter. I know Gregg does intend to man-hate with her article, but it comes off as such. Just as women are discriminated against, men are lumped into a handful of categories (none of which are any good). I work very hard to better myself every single day. I have many wonderful women in my life whose lives I value more than mine, and whose careers have and will undoubtedly be better than mine. The chapter certainly stirred the pot a bit, and I think the male population in the classroom stayed away from the subject on purpose. It is hard to be objective with gender issues, because there is no in-between. You are male or female–the end.

Unlike the last two projects I created, this one required more research and a little more time to formulate. I decided to find blogs that have created by people from a range of professional backgrounds. They ranged from priest, dentist, and optometrist. The project was interesting, and some times funny. It was amazing to find all the blogs that did not make my post. The tattoo artists, hair-dressers, mailmen, farmers, architects, etc. They were fun to dissect. It taught me about the diversity of blogs, and it gave me some pointers for my own site. It is nice to take a peek at what is out there. It gave me a little confidence in what I am doing with my own.

This was another hard-fought week, but the routine is getting easier. Next week will not be a fun one however. I will be out of town Sunday, Monday, Friday, Saturday, and next Sunday dues to grad school interviews and family matters. I will get the job done though. Here’s to another week! Oh, and Happy Valentine’s day/weekend!

One response to “Week 5: More Uses of Blogs and Priests Who Blog?

  1. > The project was interesting, and some times funny. It was amazing to find all the blogs that did not make my post. The tattoo artists, hair-dressers, mailmen, farmers, architects, etc. They were fun to dissect. It taught me about the diversity of blogs, and it gave me some pointers for my own site. It is nice to take a peek at what is out there. It gave me a little confidence in what I am doing with my own.

    The project was excellent. You started to cut a path into What’s Next for Blogs? for all the rest of us to follow.

Leave a Reply

