Week 6: What’s next for blogs?

Another week, another lesson learned. This week we focused on one simple question: what’s next for blogs? The answer is not and will never be simple. We polished off our fantastic textbook this week, which is bittersweet. On one hand change is coming and new types of learning is close ahead, but it’s a sad week because Uses of Blogs has been eye-opening.

This week went a lot of like the previous weeks. We started with some comments on our classmates work, went into the book with some readings and two posts, then polished off the week with another project.

I started the week, of course, with three comments on my classmates projects from the previous week. I commented on Sarah’s Prezi, Matt’s group project, and Jordon’s research on PLE’s.

From there I hit the book. I choose chapter 22 and 18 to post on, because they intrigued me the most. I began with chapter 22, which touched on the uncertain future of blogs and Bruns’ thoughts on the topic.

Chapter 18 was a fun read, exceptionally fun, and it touched on fictional blogs. It ranks among the best chapters/articles in the textbook. It’s amazing how creative the blogosphere can truly be.

For my weekly project I decided to create a Tiki-Toki timeline. That post can be found here. I attempted to chronicle the next two years of blogging. I grabbed information from the internet, as well as predictions, and ongoing developments. It was harder than I originally thought it would be to find information about the future of blogs, but I persevered.

This was a tightened week for me. I spent Sunday and Monday traveling to southeastern Wisconsin for a grad school interview. I then left Bemidji and head to Menomonie, Wisconsin friday morning for another grad school interview and stayed down there. The majority of my work this week was done between tuesday and thursday. It has been a quick, stressful week. Next week should be better, even though I work nearly 40 hours.

What’s next for blogs is a difficult question to answer and research. Nobody seems to have a grasp on this question, and I am not going to begin to try and answer it myself. Blogs are expanding, morphing, and changing into an easier, more complex way of expression. I have enjoyed using them and am intrigued about their future. I am also intrigued as to where this class is headed. I know Wikis are in store for us soon, but I know little about their existance. It should be free.

One response to “Week 6: What’s next for blogs?

  1. > For my weekly project I decided to create a Tiki-Toki timeline. That post can be found here. I attempted to chronicle the next two years of blogging. I grabbed information from the internet, as well as predictions, and ongoing developments. It was harder than I originally thought it would be to find information about the future of blogs, but I persevered.

    And it works! Your future seems less about specific developments as it is about extending the same – the Daily Mail, the emphasis on the next big thing, ownership, quantity …

Leave a Reply

