Project Week 3: Myspace Reflection

Week three of our final project was a roller coaster ride. I focused on Myspace this week as they are in the middle of a massive changeover to their “new” Myspace. Campaigns are underway, and big-time artists like Justin Timberlake are backing the renovations. It was another productive week five jam-packed posts. Four the five posts were over 1,000 words, something I always strive towards. There was good and bad results while trying to use a new site I have not used. Facebook and Twitter were familiar and easy to cover. I already had a feel for the space–not the case here. Not only have I not been on Myspace since 2007, I had not even peaked at the new Myspace until Monday. It was a rewarding week full of discovery, disappointment, and a mixed bag of results.

For Monday’s post I decided to stay away from the “new” Myspace until I got a good grasp on the old format, which is still available and running in the same manner as the new. The eventual discovery what that the space is usually left vacant by indie bands. This was not overly surprising, but I did expect more usage because of the ability to post songs, videos, and images. I realized quickly that this inactivity on Myspace would make my research harder than anticipated. I took a net and cast it over my entire indie library and brought in some interesting statistics. Most bands had not accessed their page in YEARS. Only a handful had made an appearance since the calendar switched to 2013.

Wednesday’s post focused on comments and available songs. Research brought back not-so-great results. A large portion of the comments on band walls was from advertisers and struggling bands looking for attention. I stayed with the old Myspace for one more day. I reminisced about times when I used to always come to Myspace when I wanted to hear a new song or preview a new album. It was discouraging to find little to no activity, and I was starting to get very worried about my research this week. I talked about pressing forward, “Regardless of what this research is clearly showing I will find some worth on this site.”

Friday’s post dealt exclusively with the new Myspace. It was rewarding. I found a lot of good features worth discussing and some stuff that appeared to just be regurgitated. I did talk about the progress the new Myspace was making with updated tour dates, a better layout, and easier access to pretty much everything. They ditched the “last login” tag which was a good idea. That only brought attention to the inactivity from everyone, and they knew that. Further research led to the discovery that bands still don’t seem to be using the space–it’s pretty empty across the board. The easy access to full albums is certainly a plus. The space certainly still has a lot of work to do.

Saturday’s post was another small step in wrong direction. I dove into the “connections” feature on every page and it was pretty much a dead-end. Nothing more than a Facebook like or a Twitter following, except that those numbers can reach the hundreds of thousands and millions…the connection counts peaked around 13 thousand. This proved not only band inactivity but user inactivity. Some bands who are not even together have more connections than much more popular bands. Wasn’t really adding up.

Today’s post, along with Friday’s, was the best. I didn’t go into the research with much enthusiasm because of the hit-and-miss week. I wasn’t sure what to cover, but found a feature called “discover” and decided run with it. At first glance I though it was just a knock-off of a Facebook feed, but I dug deeper. I discovered, via discover, the “trending” feature. It had the most viewed and talked-about Myspace articles front and center. The layout of the feature it pretty hip and colorful. The articles, while not amazing, did link out. Some of the articles/stories were of artist playlists, interviews, photos, and original pieces. It’s a very interest feature and one I think they can possible run and lead with towards the future.

While this was not the best research week of the three it was worthy of my time. I have a better understanding of a social media outlet, more relatable knowledge, and a sense of accomplishment as I persevered through the hardest of times. I think it proves that if you dig a little deeper you can emerge with a gem.

One response to “Project Week 3: Myspace Reflection

  1. > While this was not the best research week of the three it was worthy of my time. I have a better understanding of a social media outlet, more relatable knowledge, and a sense of accomplishment as I persevered through the hardest of times. I think it proves that if you dig a little deeper you can emerge with a gem.

    Absolutely, Jack. That’s the hassle and the beauty in staying with a project like this for a month or so: Gives you time to find and develop the really valuable stuff.

Leave a Reply

