YouTube Part 4: VEVO

We have finally made it to our last weekend of the school year before finals! We have covered so much material related to social media to this point that it is dizzying. Our week of YouTube research has been good, but not great, so I hope today turns things around. Today I will discuss YouTube and VEVO. I don’t know a lot about the topic, but what I have seen in the past is that it comes off almost like a band’s personal video site. There are a large amount of links throughout the page, loads of videos, statistics, and playlists. I think this could turn our research in the right direction. I love diving into material I do not know a lot about. It’s exciting, furthers my knowledge, and makes for good content. I am still a little uncertain of how I am going to approach the topic, so for now I will say that I will cover three band’s VEVO pages. But before that, I will define VEVO and tell what it’s all about.

Randomly, I chose Mumford & Sons, Arcade Fire, and The National for research.

VEVO isn’t exactly what I thought it was. I figured it was affiliated with YouTube in some way, but it is not. It’s still worth discussing, but not quite in the way I originally anticipated. VEVO is actually stylized as vevo, so there’s that. It is a joint venture music video website operated by Sony Music Entertainment, Universal Music Group, and Abu Dhabi Media. It was launched officially on December 8, 2009, and the videos on vevo are syndicated across the web.

They only offer music videos from three major record labels, which are Universal Music Group, Sony Music Entertainment, and EMI. There are said to be more than 50,000 videos available on vevo.

Obviously this changes things. I assumed vevo was a bigger part of YouTube. This research will now become more of a “YouTube profile” discussion with this news. I will still stay with these three bands, who are obviously under those three record labels. The three band profiles are somewhat different on many levels, although the templates all have the same boring look.

OK, let’s get started. Mumford & Sons‘ profile is labeled “MumfordAndSonsVEVO.” They have 207,606 subscribers to their page. We can easily compare this to followers or likes. Their videos have been viewed 64.7 million times. This sounds like a lot, and I am sure it is, but I can’t make that judgment until we take a look at the other two bands. 32 videos have been “uploaded” onto their page. This sounds small, I’m not sure, time will tell. They have some nice linkage on the right side of the page, which comes as no surprise as their pages usually are well developed. Likes to their official website, Facebook, Twitter, iTunes, Amazon, and an email are all available with one click of a button. The videos are organized horizontally from newest to oldest on the page. The page is simple, productive, understandable, and exactly what you would expect. Let’s move forward.

It’s obvious from the get-go that Arcade Fire‘s page is much different from Mumford & Sons. They have been subscribed to by 44,385–more than 150 thousand less than Mumford & Sons. Their videos have been viewed 19.7 million times–45 million less than Mumford & Sons. This isn’t a competition and Arcade Fire does not have as big of an audience as Mumford & Sons, but these statistics are telling. 25 videos are available, seven less than Mumford & Sons. They only have one link, which is to their website. All this comes as no surprise as Arcade Fire has never been one to be very active through social media. They are a quiet, secluded, and calculated band with a massive following. But this following does not compare to the likes of Mumford & Sons, who reigns from England. These bands do have one thing in common though, they both have won Best Album at the Grammy’s, which is pretty cool. Another thing worth noting is that their last uploaded video was over a year ago.

Well, The National is doing even less than Arcade Fire on YouTube. They only have 13,386 subscribers and 7.3 million video views. Their “about” page features zero links, and has just three facts. 1) Their YouTube name is “TheNationalVEVO.” Uh huh. 2) They joined YouTube on April 23, 2010. OK. 3) They are from the United States. Woooow. I never knew that. This is quite pathetic, and it’s pretty obvious they don’t touch this site. I do know they are quite active on Facebook and Twitter, but were extremely vacant on MySpace. They do have 30 videos available, which is looking like an average number to be at. They have been around since the turn of the century though, so they probably should have more videos than Mumford & Sons.

While this research went into a completely different direction, it was still worthwhile. I did learn a lot about vevo as I researched my subject a little further, and found some interesting items on the band pages. The research shows that you don’t have to just search on YouTube anymore, you can simply choose a band page by clicking on their profile link and find all the good videos. All the available videos are official in some form, so they are not fan-made or of bad quality. I’m still uncertain how I am going to cap this project off tomorrow, but I am hoping that it will be with a bang.

2 responses to “YouTube Part 4: VEVO

  1. Pingback: Project: Week 5 Reflection | In An Ocean of Noise·

  2. Pingback: Project Writeup | In An Ocean of Noise·

Leave a Reply

